Alexandria

Hey everyone!
I'm Sarah from Denmark, I'm a fashion designer. I'm planning to move to Alexandria the end of this year and I have few questions regarding to living and working in Alex. Is it hard to find a job there? How do I get in touch with people? Is it easy making friends there since I don't speak the language. What should I be aware of? How's life in Alex? How expensive or cheap is it to rent an apartment in Alex? Do I need a medical insurance?

I look forward to hearing from you guys
Thank you so much in advance

Hi Sarah,

Welcome to Alexandria the best city of Egypt.

- Is it hard to find a job there?
No if you are thinking to teach a language if not, Yes it's going to be hard.

- How do I get in touch with people?
Nice people can be found anywhere in Alex but at the start you need to meet some foreigners who are currently living in Alex those will introduce you to their good local friends or you can meet good people at any community clubs .. and AVOID making friends at any tourist sights.

- Is it easy making friends there since I don't speak the language?
Yes it is very easy Alexandrians love foreigners and most of the youth speak English and French.

- What should I be aware of?
You better understand the local pricing as most of the locals (taxies, shops etc..) will double the prices for you.

- How's life in Alex?
Relaxing, small city .. not much to do compared to Cairo .. Cairo more open than Alex but way cleaner and more friendly people than Cairo.

- How expensive or cheap is it to rent an apartment in Alex?
It's better that you share flat with someone else .. the best monthly room rent in a good shared flat starts from 1000le a month

- Do I need a medical insurance?
If you have strong stomach and body and have you been to worse places than Egypt before .. then no need to have one .. if not i recommend you to have one at least for 3 months.

I hope this helps :)

Regards,
Hareth.

Dear Hemyar,