Kuwait suspends family and visit visas -- any expats affected?

Hello, I am a content writer for Expat.com.  For an upcoming piece, we would like to know if any expats here have been affected by Kuwait's suspension of family and visit visas until further notice (for reference: https://www.zawya.com/en/world/middle-e … t-rv8ebkp4). Thank you in advance for sharing your experiences with us.

UP 2b06.svg

well, of course it affects everyone.

We cannot make a visit visa for my mother-in-law to visit us, the last time she came to see us was in 2020, before the .... hit the fan.

As a result of the latest ban, ticket prices skyrocketed, we paid 57KD for a one way ticket out of Kuwait last tuesday, a return ticket was 200KD.

It is becoming more and more difficult to live in Kuwait day-by-day, as someone who was born here over 3 decades ago, a constant 'expat', it becomes tiresome.

The current population is 30% locals, 70% expats. It is the wish of all to reverse the ratio, however, if one were to look at it rationally, this simply cannot be done. Let's assume Kuwait has a population of only 10 people, who work the following jobs:

DoctorEngineerAccountantTeacherCleanerMaidCheck-out clerkSalesmanBuilderSecurity guard

6 of the jobs above are not done by locals, and if you look at the population dynamics, you'll find a huge number of maids, almost 500-600K. So how would it be possible to shift the dynamics in such a way? Its not, its just constantly used as a rallying call.

The problem is not the population ratio.  The problem is, "What is the realistic vision for the country?".   And that is where the issue lies.  They are completely unclear about how they want to approach it other than blaming everything on expats and wanting them to get out.   Then you have these quick decisions which reflect the bias against expats in a bad light for the country.   And then people wonder why Kuwait is always rated as the worst country for expats in global surveys :).