Switching from student visa to work visa

Hi folks,

I'm a British expat living in Beijing, I'm studying Chinese online through a university so I have a student resident permission until September. Instead of continuing my study I'd prefer to start working for an international school.

I have a bachelor's degree but I came here originally as a tourist and stayed. I have received my 2nd vaccine jab.

I'm looking to the hive mind for  information on...

Can I switch visa without going back to the UK?

What is going back to the UK and coming back like now for those with the China vaccine?

Thanks

I'm a Briton too, living in Beijing. I don't have a Bachelor's degree (though I do have higher education [BTEC HND], but the Chinese don't seem to recognise it), so I can't do any teaching, it seems.

When I first came here, some decades ago, I was able to switch from a tourist visa to a work visa with a visit to Hong Kong. I'd imagine that is still the case.

I've only had the one vaccine (the next is in a week or two), but am also looking to go back to the UK temporarily and also would like to know how easy that is these days...still no flights from Beijing, afaik, though you can go through other cities, eg Shanghai or indeed Hong Kong. I think we still need to do two weeks' of self-isolation in the UK but can do that 'at home'. I think we also still need to do two weeks' of self-isolation on arrival back in China too, and that's in an hotel so could be expensive :/ The situation changes quite rapidly though...

Please keep us up to date with what you find out.

Dear Laowai:

Okay, I am not an expert at this but I do have some experience because I hire foreign teachers to work for our company.  Here is what I can tell you as of today May 18, 2021

You might (and I stress might) be able to switch your student visa to a work visa but it will depend on the following:

1. The province you are in and their rules (every province has slightly different rules)