Considering a move to Brazil, what do we need?

I am a certified teacher from the USA exploring job opportunities in Brazil.  The schools would acquire a work visa for me before I get to the country.  I totally understand working without a work visa is illegal and I do not plan to do anything illegally.  If I am not offered a job with a work visa, I would not move to Brazil.  (This is not my first time working abroad so I have been through this process before, but with a different country!)  My husband would be coming with me, but would NOT be working in Brazil.  He would continue to work at his USA job remotely from Brazil.  What sort of documentation would we need to get for him?

Thanks!

Lucybelle
He would have to have some sort of permanent visa or else come and go as a tourist. He would not be able to get a permanent visa unless he had an investment visa, married to a Brazilian, had a Brazilian child or some sort of work or student visa.

Jim

jland912 wrote:

Lucybelle
He would have to have some sort of permanent visa or else come and go as a tourist. He would not be able to get a permanent visa unless he had an investment visa, married to a Brazilian, had a Brazilian child or some sort of work or student visa.

Jim

So there's no way for him to come into the country with me?  If it matters he is a dual citizen of both USA and Costa Rica (which does not require tourist visa to enter Brazil).

When we lived abroad before, the person working applied for residency (this is how you were able to work, no "work visa").  Then a spouse, child, etc could apply based on that person.  There's nothing like this in Brazil?  I have a work visa and apply for something for my husband?

lucybelle wrote:

Lucybelle

So there's no way for him to come into the country with me?

Yes, there is, no problem.