MOVING TO MALTA EARLY 2011 - LOOKING FOR ADVICE AND NEW FRIENDS!

Hi everyone my partner and I are moving to Malta early 2011 (Im 30 he is 27) He is French and I am Scottish. He has been offered a position for a company to start in January. We dont have accommodation sorted yet. We would like to be close enough to the bus routes in Valetta but not in the heart of the city (for finance reasons and also to be in a quieter area would be ideal) Any ideas guys? I am a part qualified accountant and am also going to do a short course in teaching English before moving over. Any help on the best places to look for jobs etc is greatly appreciated. Really looking to moving there! We visited in October and fell in love with the place. Also to meet up with like minded people perhaps we can exchange email addresses. We love food culture walking and having fun. Thanks

Hi Angelabraveheart, welcome on Expat-blog! :)

I hope you other members will be able to help you.

I wish you good luck :)
Christine

Hi,
Welcome to the Forum.

In january you will find lots of offers for hotel accomodation. It will be easy to find an appartment(check out other related posts). Then you can go out and find the right appartment.There are many on the market in all areas.

Many expats live in the Sliema/St.Julians and neighbouring areas but as all bus routes go to and from Valletta you can also choose from other areas like the 3 villages ,Birkirkara,San Gwann and others. Not many expats actually live in Valletta.

I'm a member of the Ramblers group and we have 3-4 hour walks once or twice a week over the winter season.The yearly membership fee is a very reasonable 10€/year. Check out the website for the current walks programm (www.ramblersmalta.org).

Send me your e-mail through private message and I'll get in contact.
We can also give advice on teaching English in Malta as my girlfriend is a teacher in Sliema.

Regards
Ricky

Hey Angela, my cousin in Lay is Scottish aswell! I simply love your accent!!