New job in Muscat

Hi All,

Thanks for your serivce to us who has fear in stepping into a new place.

Currently im working in abu dhabi with 13.5K AED per month. I am an estimation engineer and have 5 years Indian and 4 years UAE experience. I got an offer in Muscat. OMR 2100 all inclusive (accomodation and transport). I am just married and i want to bring my wife with me. Company is Synergy petroleum which is a branch under Al Taher Group office is at Ghurram area. I am not a much outgoing person. I would like to have a nice single bedroom in South Indian locality. I am a vegetarian and non-alcoholic person. No kids. I want to save 1300 OMR as i have need for it back home. I do not have driving license in India and UAE.
Is it possible to save tat much money after accomodation food and transport expense? How soon can i bring my wife to Muscat? Is it good to consider this offer. Im planning to ask them to give OMR 1600 and tell them to provide accomodation and CAR with fuel. Is it good?
I heard i need to pay the rent in single payment at beginning for a proper contract. Is it correct?.
Also adivse me how long it will take to get an driving license? and is it easy?

I am confused on the family visa.They are not confirm what category visa they will put for me. I have asked for engineer, They are saying the will put higher end position visa so family visa will not be a problem. is there anything like tat? Also They are saying they can stamp family visa only after 6 months only. Can i bring my wife on visit visa and extend for 4 months. So totally she can stay with me for 5 months and then the family visa can be stamped.Is it possible in oman?

Thanks for your feedback anna.

Hi Manickavasagam1985,

The salary figure quoted is good by local standards.

The place where you would like to stay would be dependent on where your office is located. You cannot choose to stay far away from your place of work, for obvious reasons.