Unusual Situation for a Permanent Visa... Need Advice

Hi there,

I am looking into applying for a permanent visa in Brazil, but am in an unusual situation and need advice/shared experiences. 

I'm a little worried about sharing this, though, because I don't want to be criticized or advised against my choices.  I am only looking for advice about the visa situation.

In October, I am marrying my Brasilian sweetheart in the USA.  I am American.  I would like to return to the USA under a VIPER (family/marriage visa) but am concerned that this is not practically possible.

My fiancé is a doctor and I am a teacher.  We have been together for 3 years, and we are in our 40s.  The problem is, we do not plan to live together while in Brasil - as in, the same house. 

I know this is where the questions start.  Why not live together?  In a nutshell, because my husband-to-be is bipolar II and is still in the early stages of managing the illness.  He is against the idea at this time, and I am in agreement.  We don't think this will be permanent but we have done very, very well together while we each manage our own lives and homes (I've been in Brasil for the last two years but have to leave now).

The issue comes up with trying to prove this is a real marriage.  Yes, it really is, we love each other deeply, we just don't live together.  And... my fiancé won't lie about it to the police, which I can understand.  As the Federal Police routinely conducts visits to homes in the middle of the night to verify living situations, I feel like we're doomed before we start.

I thank everyone in advance for taking this seriously and helping us out.

Abraços

Hi benevivit,

Sort of confusing your description of the situation NOW. Are you saying that presently you're both in Brazil or both in the USA and the marriage will take place in the USA?