VOIP service for us expats

What is the best voip service to use in order to port and keep your US cellphone number while living permanently in the Dominican Republic?

I guess buying  a vpn and porting your number into google voice is the best cheapest option.

I kept my Mint account and added a second eSIM with Altice. Mint uses wifi when I'm at home, uses Altice data otherwise. Alitce is about $1600 DOP for the plan I'm on, and Mint is about the same.

@alvarez7361 Hey there I use a combination of Clara 30 gb per month and Magicjack, I have only been here one month, it is working out great. I am a Canadian so the number I port is from Canada

I have been using magicjack for the past 10 years here.  It's as reliable as the claro service is...  You can call unlimited anywhere in North America without incurring long distance charges.  Also, Magicjack to magicjack any where in the world.

Otherwise, messenger and whatsapp  as long as the other party has them too.

Yes, I have my Canadian phone number and you can have your existing number ported...

We use Voiply, VOIP, which has a an internet connection in my home and also has a phone app whereby we can make/receive calls at no additional charge. They will, however, charge for calls to cell phones in the Dominican.....I think about .09 usd/min.  We are pleased that w can call many other countries as well. Of course, we show the US phone number we once had.

We used a couple of different VOIP products, but then my US banks started requiring a US phone number that was attached to a SIM - physical or eSim. I switched to a Mint Mobile plan for $15/month and it works like a charm! the best thing is that when I return to the US, I just switch my cellular data from the Claro to the Mint Sim and no roaming!

@Gaurav Raghani

thanks  will look into it 

@TRSinCO

thank you

@Joguy

thanks, never heard of MagicJack  will look it up

@DominicanadaMike

thanks

@ckhii

thanks  will look into that 

@ddmcghee