Need car insurance in DE, not a resident..

Hello,

I am a German citizen and have been living in the UK for five years, hence force I am presently a UK resident. End of the year I am going to Germany for about three months. Can I still obtain car insurance even though my actual residency is in the UK?
Chances are high that I will be staying indefinitely in DE, but for the first 2-3 months everything is a little complicated to say the least.
I go to DE. I find a car. I need to prove that I have insurance. I am living in a Airbnb for the first month.
Does anyone have any experiences you could share with me on the easiest way to go about this?

Vielen Dank,

Shellybelly

1. You need a residential address in Germany to register a car. Then you can use that also for the insurance.
2. If you have no residential address, you can only drive a rented car, not own one.
3. If you stay somewhere for longer than a week (or was it two weeks - not sure any more), you MUST register at that address. Registration is possible at AirBnB places and - officially - the host must sign the necessary papers for this. But since many hesitate to do so (and in that case you have no way of forcing them, short of sueing in court), you should make sure of this before booking and select the accommodation accordingly.
4. In most of Germany, public transport (and occasional taxi) is more practical and in many cases cheaper than having a car. If your plan turns out to be too complicated, you could try this! (Car sharing, however, is also only possible with registered address.)