COVID-19: Is your job at risk?

Hello everyone,

We are looking for testimonies of expats who are currently unsure about their job given the impact of the coronavirus pandemic on the global labour market.

Are you being able to work from home?

Have you been temporarily laid off?

Are you being forced to go to work?

Feel free to drop me a private message if you would like to share your experience.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,
Veedushi
Expat.com Team

I'm working from home at the moment but it's hopelessly inefficient for a number of reasons.

I work as a conversation teacher so, as you can imagine, that's not an easy task from home with no proper facilities and not very much co-operation from schools, not because they're being stroppy, more because they're all running around like crazy trying to sort everything out.

As the shutdown is expected to last far longer than first thought, it's possible contracts will be terminated and my job will go, however, I'm in the happy position of not caring about cash so it doesn't much matter if it happens.

The latest news is schools are not really expected back until the new school year (Many have already extended for another two weeks), that meaning the likelihood of contracts being terminated are fair to good.  That will leave expats on company KITAS in difficult positions, but will have no real effect on me at all. As for cash - I have enough so that isn't much of a worry.

My boss is a fool that demands meetings in Jakarta - if he does that again, I will make like Strepsiades and flip a bird his direction. I'm not much into scares, but blind stupidity is more than I'm willing to engage in for cash.
The company I work for is run by a clueless fool, a man that demands meeting between teachers at a time when that's unwise, and in a place that has more covid 19 cases than any other area of the country.