Not All Filipinas Are Nannies / Caregivers

So I created a profile here in Expat.com hoping to connect to other expats and perhaps "kababayans" (people from my own country). But then I started receiving job offers to take care of their babies - nanny jobs. It irked me because these people just AUTOMATICALLY ASSUME that since I am a Filipina, I have no other experience or aspirations beyond being a nanny. I have an MBA and run my own business. Truth be told, I am UNDERQUALIFIED to take care of babies. I don't know how to change diapers or carry an infant. I might actually end up killing your baby, hahaha!

So please, to all members of the expat community, NOT ALL FILIPINAS ARE CAREGIVERS OR NANNIES so don't go handing out nanny job offers to us without first looking at our profile.

Thank you and have a great day.

Hi Rosario,

I don't think you need to get upset for that!
As we all know, the best caregiver (nurse, baby sitter) in the entire Catholic Europe, especially in Rome and Madrid, are all Philippinas!
If I were you, I would be rather proud of it.
And if you want to avoid future misunderstanding, may be you have to define clearly what you want in Casa......
Good luck and enjoy the tajine!

I would simply like to cure the myopic view of most people towards Filipinos. Yes, we have great nurses, caregivers and nannies. But we have doctors, engineers and scientists, too.

But I guess being pigeonholed as a Nanny Nation is way better than being judged as terrorists.

Anyway, I am enjoying Moroccan cuisine- tagine, couscous, tangia, rfissa, khringo, btbot, msmen... you name it, I've eaten it!

Let's remember that caregiver and nurse are very noble profession. Much nobler than engineers, because they directly making this world a better place to live for the people who need it most!
Of course the Philiphines have many doctors and lawyer and engineers. But most of them stay in the Phillipines, are they not?
I would really wear that misconception as a badge of honour!