Learning to speak Thai

Hi, just moved to Thailand, living with my Thai girlfriend in a small village. Very limited people speak English. So I would like to learn to speak Thai. Does anyone know of a good coarse?

I'm a beginner. Among other things, I'm an ESL instructor so that gives me some ready made language learning strategies. Online: "Learn Thai from a White Guy" gets you started. Basic literacy first and then some basic conversational stuff. The literacy part is important because it helps to improve your memory and gives you a solid foundation for further learning -- Also good for basic survival reading such as signs, etc.  I keep a notebook with basic survival phrases and social conventions. Getting some functional stuff down is good: giving and taking directions, ordering food, money matters, etc. I'm presently studying from a book called "Read Thai in Then Days" (Not) by a linguist and language school headmaster in BK named Arthit Juyaso aka Bingo Lingo -- Self Published, I think. I believe Thai is his first language. The 10 unit course takes a somewhat linguistic approach, though -- OK for me because I have knowledge in applied linguistics. It provides some very informative insights into how the language works. You can download accompanying audio files after purchase of the book. It really helps to have a Thai speaker listen to you as you begin to master the pronunciation. Thai is a tonal language - that's the tricky part - but with easy-to-grasp single syllable words. The grammatical structure / word order seems to be easy enough to get a handle on. That's all I know at this stage in my learning. I'm sure there are other good sources out there. . . . Looking forward to what others have to say on this topic. Good luck and enjoy.   dcb

Thanks David,
That's very helpful, I have looked at the learn Thai by a white guy.wasn't sure whether to join or not.