Marrying an Indonesian

Hi all. I'm a Hindu and a British citizen and in a relationship with a Javanese muslim lady settled in Bali for a while now. I'm travelling to Bali this June to tie the knot. I'll be attaining my freedom to marry letter from the British Consulate in Bali. My girlfriend will be converting to Hindu in a religious temple ceremony in Lamongan, Java and marry her thereafter in accordance with Hindu tradition. Thereafter register in the marriage office. Will this marriage be legally binding and bring my future wife back to the UK.  Thank you

As far as I understand, it will not be legally binding in the UK, only in Indonesia, but I am not an expert on these things. Perhaps you could also get married when you both visit the UK.

Also I assume you meet the income threshold required for bringing a non EU wife to live in the UK?

Abdulkhalil, this is the op's other thread of the same question and this one is not getting any love.

When I married I was told that my marriage was legally binding as all the paperwork is in English and completed correctly but the rules may now have changed.

Rules seem to change a lot when it comes to the UK. However as I am not planning to go back anytime soon I have never followed it up nor probably will I unless I really have to.

I might very well be wrong. I did check up on it some time ago just to know the situation should I ever want to move back to the UK in the future. Seems that the best option was to get married in the UK at a registry office. Mine is a Muslim marriage so we have the marriage books. I also have no plans to return to the UK in the foreseeable future, nor to become an Indonesian citizen.