Studying Islam in Saudi

How does one go about studying Islam there?

Na'am inshaAllah.  I am working on trying to get there.  Is the Islamic Center a school?

Islamic Centers in Saudi Arabia are huge and highly organised university like institutions developed to cater the educational  and social requirements of muslims and also new muslims.

The courses offered are basic Quran Reading, (Tajweeed) recitation (Qiraat), Arabic language ( basic , intermediate, advanced), Grammar, Tafseer, Hadith, Fiqa , Aalim, Seerat un Nabi (life of holy prophet PBUH, weekly lectures on current affairs. :one

I'm an Australian English teacher, without any kind of Muslim background, but I am interested in learning about Islam too.  Would I be allowed to go to an Islamic Centre too?  I live in Jeddah and I as I am single, I don't have a male guardian to take me.  Can I go on my own?

Alhumdulillah! Allahu akbar! This is wonderful to now. Jazakallahu khair!

Hi Pitch,

If you're willing to learn about Islam from authentic people who really have knowledge about Islam, then start by watching introductory lectures of Dr. Zakir Naik on youtube. I hope you'll get a true picture and better understanding. This is for your good. Bye!

Hello Pitch,

The answer to your question is yes and no!

You are of course welcomed to join some basic courses with a view to learn and understand basics of Islam. I suggest you speak to the course organizer to seek guidance on the lectures and its level.

Please try to understand that these institutions are geared to providing serious education and open discussion for the 'sake of discussion' is not appreciated and is often disallowed.

I agree with Waseem's advise too. For the interim period, you should start listening to some lectures to get answers to your queries.

I request some Muslim sisters residing in Jeddah to give you company in your initial visits to the Islamic center to make you feel more comfortable. :one

Thank you all for the advice!