Help the retired folk

HI Everyone,
I am a caregiver and wondered about moving there to help the retired folk. I lived on the big island of Hawaii for a year, so it may be a bit similar. Still I would have to get a work visa and it may be
a stretch for me. What do you think? Love to hear some good information.

Hello Kjoannaprichard,

Welcome.  I have no idea as I don't live there yet, but just wanted to welcome you to the site.  I too am looking to relocate to Ambergris Caye in a few years.  Not looking for work, but plan on living there til the end! 

Good luck in your endeavor!  This is a great site and I'm sure you will get several really good posts!

Cheers!
Boxergal

Thanks, I am excited!

I worked as a GP, in neuropsych, and med school teaching there for several years up to 2011. This was in the two northern districts. The two areas that Belize lags in the health care arena would be emergency-trauma care and chronic care. The overall medical infrastructure is grim as is true of most everything else. The MDs are pretty good overall and less rushed and very empathic. That being said there are very few facilities for elderly care and since about 45% of the population is impoverished many are looked after by extended family. I never encountered PSW's anywhere during numerous home visits.There are no facilities that I know that cater to foreign retirees and that would be far in the future.
The pay structure for RN's is very grim and many are Guatemalan imports.Obtaining a work permit for your purposes would not be easy.
Belize is not really a place for ex pats  to  work in most fields of endeavour, except as a temporary experiment in cross cultural exposure. As a place to retire, there are better places eg Panama or Mexico.
The expats who work successfully in Belize do so by catering to tourists as in the hospitality industry or real estate/relocation where they also hand out free  rose colored glasses.

Hi Kj,