Doing business in Puerto Rico

Hi,

are foreign investors welcome in Puerto Rico?

Is it complicated to register a company in Puerto Rico? What is the procedure?

What is the corporate tax rate in Puerto Rico?

Is it easy to recruit?

Any advice you would share with us?

Thank you very much for your participation,

Julien

I have businesses I am considering moving to PR and have looked into the tax rate some (I am not an expert by any stretch!). I believe corp tax rate is 15% and PR residents employed by said corp pay little to no federal income tax. Bristol Myers Squibb (the pharmaceutical co) is said to have opened up shop there because of this.

please Please PLEASE do your own research tho! I am also delving into this more as I'm moving there in Oct. Hope this helps! Please share anything you find, and I will do the same. :)

Hi capblond!

Thanks for your contribution.

Regards
Armand

[Moderated]

Try this link:

http://www.lexmundi.com/Document.asp?DocID=3461

Looks like a great resource, Kai77!

It is absurdly complicated to register a business in PR. Here is the procedure from an earlier post of mine elsewhere in this forum:

"I write about this for educational purposes only. It's not legal advice. If you need legal advice, I recommend Lic. Yuannie Arrollo Casillas in Ocean Park: 787-258-5566; licyac [at ] gmail.com. I've used her before and she's good.

To register an LLC or LLP (which are the company types I imagine you would want to use), you should register and pay online. This service wasn't available when I did my last incorporation so I'm not sure if it's reliable or not. Either way, you pay and you get a receipt so it would just be a matter of following up. Here is a link to the PR SOS Corporations Division: https://prcorpfiling.f1hst.com/Creation  lity.aspx.