Anyone from Dunedin?!

Hey everyone...I am presently a MINST student, Univ of Otago. Planning to do my PhD too from there...will be reaching Dunedin in the first week of Feb.

Anyone from Dunedin? Feel free to drop in a line!

Hope to make lots of friends during my time there! And see penguins too, which I always wanted! :)

Cheers!

Welcome to Expat.com Sumantra26!

Harmonie.:)

Hey, howdy?

Welcome to Expat.com Sumantra26! :)

I wish you get lots of new contact here.

Do not hesitate to share your experience on the forum New Zearland. ;)

Thank you,

All the best,
Christine

Thank you!

Hi! I live in the USA and am also thinking of moving to Dunedin. I know very little about it other than what I have been able to find on the internet. If you find out anything from anybody already ther can you pass the information on to me too please and I will do likewise with you.
Thanks,
Valerie

Hi Valerie, I still have not reached Dunedin, I will reach Auckland on 4th Feb, so maybe a day or two after. I am now in Bangkok, travelling. What I found out thus far is Dunedin is comparatively cheaper than Auckland or Wellington, and also much colder. The flat sharing and property rates you can find out by registering in easyroommate.co.nz, I already got a few calls and shortlist a couple of them. Ofcourse I have to go and see before finalising, as it is not prudent to pay through net.

The weather is like I said, pleasant, but chilly. It is primarily a student city, with lots of activities, and people from all over the world. Job options in South Island is also good. I plan to settle down there too, hopefully. And I got a few good Indian markets and restaurants in the central Dunedin area.

I will keep updating more in my blog, dailyworldwatch.wordpress.com, so you can subscribe (free) to that if you wish!

Do stay in touch, and all the best!