Tax home and temp work in US

Does anyone have experience with temporary work in the US (3mo) while being a permanent resident of Brazil? As I understand it my tax home is Brazil, but I don't want to run into any trouble with reimbursement for travel reimbursements for work. Resources? Professionals?

thanks!

I'm assuming you're working in the US for a US company and will be residing in the US for the 3 months.  Also you state your a tax resident of Brazil. I'm also not a tax professional so take everything herein with a grain of salt.

Under these circumstances you will pay taxes as normal in the US, as if you had no other tax base, and you will need to pay income tax on that income to Brazil as well.  The US federal income tax will offset your Brazil tax obligations.

Tax residents of Brazil pay tax on all their global income, so even though you're working outside Brazil for this time you will still owe tax. As mentioned the US federal income tax (but not SS, Medicare or state taxes) can be used to offset the Brazil income tax, and the deduction is 1:1.

The US Company should deduct your income as normal. In Brazil you will need to file a Carne Leao DARF monthly and pay the DARF up to 30 days following the month in which the income was earned.  For instance, if you begin work in December, in January you can create the DARF for the Carne Leao income tax due and pay it by the last day of Jan. You can make the DARF yourself online or hire a Brazilian tax professional to do it for you.  I suggest the latter unless you're already familiar with the process.  Here's the site where you can make a DARF for Carne Leao:

https://sicalc.receita.economia.gov.br/sicalc/rapido/contribuinte

When filing income tax returns in the US, I do not believe you will qualify for the Foreign Earned Income Exemption or the Foreign Tax Credit as the income would likely not be considered foreign sourced since you we're living in the US while earning the income.