New to Bordeaux

Hi everyone,

I'm an Irish girl and I just moved to Bordeaux two days ago with my boyfriend.I'm going to start teaching English here next week! I don't know ANYBODY here and I would love to make some new friends from around the world.

I did a degree in music in Milan and then moved to Berlin for six months.I'm now in Bordeaux and really looking forward to starting my job.

My interests include learning about other cultures,languages,films,music and watching Ireland play any time of sport.

It would be really cool if somebody wants to meet up for a pint or if we can get a group together.

Cheers,

Anna

Hi Anna,

I am Russian-Israeli, I have been in Bordeaux for four months working at the University. I speak little French, so I am glad to meet English-speaking people.

I did not have much success meeting people on this site... there is a facebook group "Bordeaux expats", but it seems useless as well. You may try http://bordeaux.onvasortir.com/ - it seems to be a popular way to meet people here, especially if you know some French.

There are many things to do in Bordeaux - sightseeing, visits to vineyards, picnics on the Le Lac, and trips to the sea/Arcachon.

Feel free to ask questions.

Regards, Vadim.

Hey!
I read this and was like, weird, I could have written it myself, the first few lines anyway!!
I'm moving over on Sunday with the boyfriend too, we're also Irish, and going to be teaching english! Are u going to be a Lectrice?? I am, in the Uni III.
But anyway, I'd love to meet sometime, we will know no-one either, so it'd be nice to go for a few drinks some eve!
Katie

hello all.. i'm looking to meet up with like-minded people and chat a bit in english! love learning french but long for a fun pub night with some fellow english speakers! there are some great looking pubs in chartrons where i'm living (since 1 month) but so far i've been too shy to go in any of them on my tod!