Health insurance

Hi

I'm a newbie on this site but in the process of buying a house in Frenaros.

Hopefully relocating permanently in December from UK.

I will be 56 but I'm lucky enough to retire early from nursing.  I won't be working in Cyprus as non EU.

I'm moving out on my own (well with dog and cats).

I've no idea how the health care system works in Cyprus, particularly now we are not EU.  I assume I won't be eligible even when over 60 for Cypriot healthcare as I've not worked and paid into it?

I've been looking into health insurance but quotes are in excess of £300 monthly which is a huge chunk of my pension!

Has anyone got any advice or recommendations please?

Thanks

My partner and I have paid €200 each for the year through our lawyers but not made it live until we move over on the 9th of October. I'll try and find out which company they use tomorrow, we open bank account tomorrow morning so I'll ask our rep tomorrow.

I think if you look further on this site there's insurance recommendations. If you're in good health just do the basic insurance cover until you get residency over here.

Thanks Tim- I did apply to the ones on the site but as I said they are coming in high.

Am in reasonable health but have a cancer history over 10 years ago.  Don't want to take any chances but also hoping I'll never need anything serious sorting out.

Is yours €200 monthly or for the year?

£300/mth is the typical quote for health insurance for internationally mobile persons, i.e. not relating to the country of residence. The plus of such insurance is the underwriting company usually located in a reputable jurisdiction like UK or US. The minus is obvious - the price.

There are local Cypriot reputable insurers providing decent packages for about 60 eur/mth. I personally used Atlantic insurance. Also considered Universal Life.