EOOD and all associated costs

Hello Everyone!

I am newbie here and I am glad to find a community where I can gather informations about business costs across a Europe. Although I am from Croatia, I am looking forward to open a EOOD company in Bulgaria due to more friendly business environment and lower taxes/costs.

I am interested what would be company costs for EOOD where I will be the only employed person (as a director)? For example, if I have employment with my company where the salary should be around 2000eur, up to 1500EUR I have to pay around 34% for all contributions (total cost of employment and employee), is that correct? For the rest of 500EUR, I have to pay a tax on income of 10%, resulting in 1440EUR net. Can anyone confirm this calculation?

If I am having an employee and director position, what cost can I expect for payroll/accountant services, for simple business- one or two transactions per month?

In addition, if I am paid in Bulgarian Leva, do I need two bank accounts: one of the company and one local account in Bulgaria where I will receive the salary?

Thank you very much in advance and I wish you all the best!

Welcome @Arnair to the expat.com forum!

The low Bulgarian tax (10% flat rate) does make Bulgaria a popular option for residence and/or company incorporation.

Incorporation is quite inexpensive (in the order of 300 euros), and accounting/filings should not be expensive either. But depends on exactly what's needed.

As well as standard accounting, you may need to register for VAT.

Normally you would have a company bank account and a separate personal bank account. Additionally, you might have separate Euro/Lev accounts.