Looking for suggestions

I'm 35 years old and a US Army veteran. I served in Afghanistan and was medically retired.
I'm moving to the Dominican Republic in November 2021. I'm struggling as to where I should rent an apartment. I've never been to the northern part of the country. I want to be in a good area that has a bit of everything and will allowed me to have a balance lifestyle. Thanks for your help and input. 

-Edwin Zorrilla

Edwin, you have lots of options. I live in Puerto plata.  Its great, lots of expats and veterans. Feel free to reach ut and I will help you however I can .
Dr. Gary Deutchman

Hi Edwin,  Thanks for your service.  Like you, I am also a US Army Veteran currently living in Florida and planning to move to DR in the next 2 years.  We purchased a new apartment in the Punta Cana area that is currently being built.  We're suppose to close on it by Mid 2022.  I don't know much about the north side.  I do know there are a number of VA Medical Friendly facilities in Santo Domingo and Santiago.  There may be some in the Puerto Plata area.  Check the VA Foreign Medical Program (FMP) so you understand how it can help you.  If there is anything I can help you with, please reach out. 

Good Luck!!  Victor

Thank you sir!

Hello, in that case not knowing anything, I would advise you on Google to search for real estate such as: Re / Max.com or pages like "Mercado Libre República Dominicana", "Corotos.com" (they are in Spanish, you only translate) you are looking for thema Inmuebles, You give clip rent or buy, you see your same price, comforts and to your liking it best suits you

I wish you luck

Arelis J.