Looking for work in Malaysia

Hi, my name is Chris, I'm 24 years old and looking for more out to Malaysia soon which my Malaysian wife.
I have 5 years of work experience in business development/sales and marketing in a range of sectors and wondered if anyone has any suggestion for possible employment in Malaysia?

Hope everyone is staying safe.

Hello chrishills123,

Welcome to Expat.com  ;)

By creating your CV in the Jobs in Kuala Lumpur section, this might help you find something interesting.  :top:

Best luck,

Cheryl
Expat.Com Team.

So  do you have a degree? That is 101 requirement for any work permit or permission to work one a LTSVP ("spouse visa") nowadays.

20-30 years ago yes some arrived without one and were successful, I know a couple who did, but nowadays it's required.

Secondly visas, you don't have much of an advantage being married to a Malaysian, and suffer the "local hire so we pay you half" issue. Be careful of scumbag agents offering to set you up with your own business. You can do that without them, but isn't a good idea when arriving. Successful expats I know worked first then went into business for themselves after a few years.

Thirdly doing this when the government has said no new expats so locals can get jobs? The Malaysian economy is going down the toilet. I strongly recommend you wait 2 years to allow for a recovery. Beware of the scumbag boiler room and "financial sales"  scammers. You will end up broke and or being on an FBI most wanted list.

Fourthly being back in Malaysia with a local wife after many years can be very stressful on a relationship. Do some research, you will see there is a higher divorce rate especially as the local partner suffers worse from reverse culture shock.