Recommendations for areas to live in Lisbon

Hi
I'm going to be moving to Lisbon in June with my wife and would like some recommendations  for areas to live from people who already live there ;)

Would like somewhere central but with a nice community feel. I noticed that Penha da Franca seems to be bit cheaper than some other centrally located areas and was wondering why? Like the look of Lapa but seems pretty expensive for a 2 bed place...

Anyway, any info/opinions appreciated.

Thanks
Adam

Hello,

You can try Campo de Ourique (near to Lapa), Graça (great river view), Alvalade, Ajuda.

I am a real estate consultant and can provide you more information upon request.

Kind regards,
Louis

Hello,
Yes, they have.
KR
Louis

Hi

Lapa is a very nice place where rich people lives and its very nice , glamorous and very well located and Penha de França is not s not so gallant and people of much lower incomes live.
Still is not very expensive, but a lot of people can not afford expensive houses are living there and buying apartments there for reabilitation

I think you'll need to figure out your budget and what sort of house (rooms, living space, garden/balcony) and work from there. Housing costs in Lisbon grew 60% in Lisbon over the past 10 years, in some areas more than others. Campo de Ourique would definitely be my first pick for a number of reasons, but there are other valid options to pick from (e.g. Alvalade), all depending on budget and what you're looking for.

What are the areas of Marvila and Olivais like? New apartments there seem to be reasonably priced and have good metro access. What is it like to live there?  We are looking outside the center for a family apartment to buy. Obrigada. Helen