Family planning move from US

Hello everyone,

I'm new to all of this. We are planning to move in one year overseas(leaning towards Spain) Our daughters will be 2 and 4 at the time of the move. Is there anyone out there who has moved to Spain or anyplace else with children who can give advice as to what your experience has been, what you have learned, what we need to know etc.

I have not had a lot of luck finding information. We have posted on many forums and have had very little response so far. We are in the early stages of research and this is part of our research, learning from people who have done it.

We have the income handles, will not need to work there and are coming form NYC so assume the cost of living in Spain will be less than we are used to but that's another aspect we would like some light shed on as we have heard varying opinions. Since we have small children, safety and health care are of course top priorities. The main reason for the move is for a change of environment, better weather, new experiences and easier ability to travel to places we haven't been while our girls are still young. We are leaning towards a Spanish speaking country because we want our girls to learn Spanish.

Thank you in advance for any information.

Stephen, Marie, Ava and Emma

Hi ane111,

I have moved your thread on the Spain forum so as members living in Spain could try to help you.

Thank you

Stéphanie

HI THERE WELL AS TO ADVICE FOR CHILDREN ,NOT MUCH HELP BECAUSE WE CAME HERE AT A LATER AGE AND HAD NONE WITH US, BUT YOU WILL FIND THAT THE LIFE IS BETTER QUIETER AND LESS COSTLY,REGARDING HEALTH UNLESS YOUR AN e,u,CITIZEN  YOU WILL HAVE TO HAVE PRIVATE INSURANCE,MY SON WHOSE 62 YRS PAYS 1100 EUROS PER ANNUM FOR HIM AND HIS WIFE MINE IS FREE I WONT GO INTO THAT,THE KIDS CAN GO TO A SPANISH SCHOOL WHEREAS THEY LEARN SPANISH FROM AN EARLY AGE AND ENGLISH FROM YOURSELVES,AT HOME.THR SPANISH Are wonderful people  very friendly and helpful,GOOD LUCK EDDIE

linedancer wrote: