30k USD annual pension. Can i lead comfortable life in Davao?

Well been to the Philippines a few times and mainly stayed in Manila but loved Davao and I could certainly live there after meeting so many people. I was made redundant in Perth after 21 years in the Government, On my return there is no chance here of a job again (even if I am a CPA, masters etc) because of age discrimination so I might as well settle in Davao as its no fun here now.

Questions are:

1. I have a life long annual pension of 40k AUD (30k USD) index linked in hand. maybe if I sell my house and savings I may get 400K USD to USE. WIll this be enough to live a comfortable life in Davao without struggle? I know all about visas etc.
2. How much rent would a reasonable 2 bed apartment costs me in Davao say near G mall or Abreeza or people park.
3. How much is decent Philippine health insurance annually.

Thank you so much for any help I can get.

Baron

Hi baron im from manila. if i read it correctly your annual pension is 30k usd devided by 12mos = 2,500 usd per month. if u multiple it by 45 php = 112,500 php. Yes you can have a decent living but its not enough to buy a brand new house n lot. However u can buy a 2nd hand car on that amount.

Thanks mate. I cant buy a house anyway as not a local. But I can buy an apartment with the sale of my house. How much is Philippine health insurance e.g Blue Cross?

Cheers

Dude, you want straight answers right?...my goodness... Your a millionaire with that kind of money... An apartment anywhere can go from 10k to 30k there..maybe more depending on its luxury status. The locals consider 10k high...expats seek the best amenities then worry with prices.

400k Cash is awesome.... Put half in home country and get a US dollars account at a bank and a Pesos account... Try two different banks PNB and BPI both have US branches...