How does the masters by research degree work

I got a Bachelors degree in Electronics Engineering in 2005 in the USA, and have worked as an electronic technician since then. However, I want to go back for a Masters Degree in Electrical Engineering so that I could be better qualified for an electronic engineering job and I am thinking of going to the University of Malta (UOM) to take this course.

The (UOM)  says that the electrical engineering program is Masters by Research, which I never heard of before. Apparently, instead of attending classes, the student would submit a dissertation topic and spend their time researching and completing their dissertation. This doesn't make much sense to me.

The reason why people attend college is to receive formal training. Sure, they could learn how to do something on their own without attending school, but it is easier to learn something when you have formal training. However, with a research course, you spend the whole time doing a dissertation. You do the dissertation by relying on your previous knowledge, doing research, and by figuring things out on your own. Basically, if I am understanding correctly, the students basically teaches themselves. However, why should a student go to college to receive formal training if they are just going to teach themselves?

If anybody has taken this course, then could they specifically explain how the programs works? I know that you are assigned a supervisor to assist you, but does the supervisor ever teach you anything new or do you have to figure everything out on your own? What are your opinions of the degree? Once you took the course, did you get an engineering job fairly easily?