Tax Paid to Home Country

Hi Fellow Australians,

Just had an offer from an Eng'g Company to work in Kuwait for a 5 year contract. The problem was, i'll be leaving my family behind in Qld as I will be on a Single Status, and will be coming home every year or as often as possible and therefore I am still a resident of Australia for Tax Purposes which means paying enormous amount of tax. Would there be another way of dealing with the Tax Office?

By the way, not possible to relocate my family as the kids don't want to move.

Thanks in advance. Cheers!

Rex

it depends on the tax regulations for instance americans only have to pay tax on anything we earn over 100 thousand so if we earn 130 thousand we pay tax on the 30 thousand get what I mean Australia may have tax exemptions like that I know the English only have to pay tax for the first year then after that its tax free an as Australia is part of the uk commonwealth I would imagine they got a similar thing going talk to ur tax office hope this helps

As long as you are working out of Australia for 186 days per year or more you dont have to pay anything!  You don't need to tell the tax office shit!  Plus how are they gonna find out? ? Theres no tax.treaty plus its only Americans that pay tax on their global earnings . The only tax u will pay is on earnings in Australia (ie rental income, share dividends, income from Australia based investment) . Ps how old are the kids?  Kuwait is a great experience for families and its an awesome opportunity to travel around the region and in Europe.

Hi Rex and sdask,
How are you? Hope you doing well. Based on the subject, really I don't have idea about your query but according to my situation, I would like to grab this opportunity to ask you guys about migration from Kuwait to Australia.