A few months in Laos

Hello,
I am a painter and currently in Mexico since 5 months. After a brief return in my native country (Belgium), I will fly to the East, to Laos because my painting is telling me so. I do not have any other motivation. I do not have any contact in Laos and wish to hear from people who could help me to start on my slow journey. I am not a tourist, just a slow voyager. To start, I would like to come for two months or a little more (April, May and June). I know it will probably rain but I suppose with some equipment it will be all right. I do not speak Lao. Is there a best place to start and can I find a nice house with friendly people to settle an organize my further stay and travel?
Thank you. Your reply will be most appreciated.
Caroline

You can only get a single entry tourist visa good for 30 days. This can be renewed in country at the Immigration office in Vientiane 5 days before the visa expires. You can only renew the visa twice before you have to leave the country and re enter.  If you overstay there is a daily fine for each day over the 30 days. Visas take up a whole page in your passport too.

You need to book a guesthouse in Vientiane for a few days or more so that you can get a feel for the place. A Google search will give you plenty to choose from. There are shops where expats do their shopping and these places have all sorts of advertisements from cars for sale to share accommodation etc.

I suggest you get a Lao phrase book and try to learn a few simple phrases. The Lao people will appreciate this.

As far as subject matter for painting perhaps you should consider going north to Luang Prabang, the old capital city which has many old heritage listed buildings. Plenty of subject matter in and around the countryside there. Also not too hard to get a cheap room in a guesthouse there either.