Relocating an entire family to Iceland?

Any info on relocating an entire family to Iceland? I have all the documentation printed off and ready. I know you need to secure a job, and housing,before moving there... but am unsure of the best way to do so because I'm not single. My husband and I have 2 small children. I am a Massage therapist by trade and figured I could possibly fall on that.
I have found the website to learn Icelandic for free, and not sure about applying as a student. We would want to live in the county side or smaller town if possible, we currently live in South Dakota and it gets cold and windy here. I'm wondering what to bring from home(USA)besides non-electrical items. I plan on bringing pots and pans dishes, clothing, essentials, but what should I not bring- or make sure to bring. If anyone can help me tackle my lengthy list of questions it would be greatly appreciated. -Thanks in advance, and yes I know this thread is from 2010

Hi dreaming of Iceland,

Welcome to Expat.com!

I have created a new topic as from your post on the Iceland forum.

All the best,
Christine
Expat.com team

when you say you have the documentation ready, how exactly do you mean? If you've just printed the forms, you've still got quite a way to go before relocation will be successful. Some points:

-moving with a family means you have to prove you can support the family financially. Have you read the utl.is website in detail? it explains financial support requirements in addition to the types of family reunification visas.

-Iceland doesn't have any self-employed or freelancer visas, so you'll have to get a visa as a "qualified professional", hired by an Icelandic company. Not sure how feasible this is if you're a massage therapist.

-why do you want to move to Iceland? Have you been here before? Even the "major" city here is not that big, and smaller towns may have limited opportunities if you're trying to get hired as a massage therapist.