We need relocation advice/info. Thank you.

I'm a retired Firefighter originally from NJ. My Canadian fiance and I are looking to move to CR before next winter...can you blame her? lol. I'd like to talk with some ex-pats already living there. I've already done some research, but have many more questions that I'd like to discuss with someone that has already relocated there. Such as; ease of relocation, CR infrastructure, what area most ex-pats have settled in and why, can we get by with speaking only basic Spanish, etc. Most of what I've already read doesn't seem very current. Thank you.

Hi there, I'm also a FF. Full time July 1st. Have been coming down for a lot of years and done a ton of research.

Hi, I'm not currently living there but have lived there in the past and plan to move back soon.

I'll make a stab at answering some of your questions:

I suppose most people choose to live in the Central Valley which surrounds the capital city of San Jose because it has the most amenities yet surrounding areas can be tranquil as well. A lot of people also choose to live at the beaches on both east and west coasts. So this really depends on what you envision as your lifestyle. If you are a beach addict well, that's your answer. But many choose the more tranquil, cooler and cheaper mountain areas. We chose to live in the mountains outside of San Ramon because of cooler weather, quiet, not as much rain as some areas yet plenty of rain ;-D, and minutes to a good sized city with a hospital, mall, movie theater, etc etc..