Opening hotel in Colombia

Hello all - looking to source some advice and suggestions.

My partner and I are planning to open a small hotel in Colombia, but we are currently still located in Canada. He is Colombian/Canadian and I am Canadian. Firstly, what are your thoughts on the best Visa for me to pursue? Spouse, Investor, Opening a business?

Secondly, we are looking to start working on the business infrastructure now while still living in Canada. We are also wondering about charging in Canadian dollars, how taxes will work etc. Basically wondering what the best course of action is for tax purposes between the 2 countries.

Look forward to hearing your feedback - TIA!

Hello, I am an architect living in Medellín and an expatriate (from Mexico). At this moment we are starting a small 24-room hotel in Medellín in one of the fastest growing points of tourism in Colombia.

I can gladly help you with the project and construction of the hotel and contact you with one of the most important tax advisory companies in Medellín to advise you.

Kind regards

Leonardo

@KBradley

First question

Conyuge visa is easiest- if he alredy has citizenship

Second question

Keep residence in Canada, Canadian address, stay a tax resident of Canada and make sure your major source of income comes from Canada . and then you are PROBABLY covered under the Canadian-Colombian tax agreement and only pay taxes on your Canadian income in Canada. Of course you will have to pay taxes on your business or any other income in Colombia

You dont want to involve your Canadian income in the Colombian tax system, as the tax rates are normally much higher than Canada

Beyond that , I cant tell you anything, other than I sure wouldnt do what you are doing, and you will never find a Colombian Tax ccountant who will understand your situation and give you competent advice-other than your tax obligations inside Colombia on Colombian income.

Good Luck