Maybe going to stay here.

Hi group!

I have been in a stable union with a Brasileira for7 years. Last year we got married. For most of our time together, I have been going back and forth between here and the States, working there for six months and staying here for six. This past year, we put in the time and effort and I was able to get a 5 year RNE visa and a Carteira de trabalho; no small task.

We have a better financial situation with me coming and going, but with a newborn (6 months), a 5 y.o., and a 16 y.o. stepson, we are considering seeking a permanant situation here.

Recently, I had an offer for a job as an English teacher. We live in Espirito Santo and the job offer is in Linhares. I have ten years experience teaching Sunday School for children, adolescents, and adults, but no experience as an English teacher, no college degree, and no TEFL. The company didn't see that as a problem, and offered me two salaries in addition to a 300 reais gift to help with rent. While this, to me, seemed to be as good an offer as I can expect given my credentials, I wonder what kind of experiences exist in our forum with folks going through similar situations.

I made really good money in the states doing asphalt paving for a Union contractor in Alaska. I also spent 15+ years doing industrial pest elimination. Neither of these jobs seem to have a lucrative market here.

However, as sort of a hobby, I did Freelance writing for several magazines back in the States. Do any of our group members do freelance writing? I have sent samples to a few forums here (Brazilian Gringo and Brazilian Insider), but finding work as a freelancer here, and even back in the States, is difficult, even with a portfolio.

Given the cost of housing in Linhares (1200-1500 mo), I don't think two salaries are going to cut it.