Potrerito area

Does anyone have any knowledge of the area just south of Potrerito, it's about 15 minutes south of Jamundi, they have some nice homes in the area.

I have no direct experience there, having known only Jamundí where I have friends who own a home there.  Jamundí used to be an up-and-coming area although a pain to commute back and forth to Cali because of the traffic.  Jamundí is known for the cholado, a sweet refreshing beverage of fruit and crushed ice.

Lately however - in the past few years - Jamundí and nearby areas including Potrerito (which is a corregimiento of Jamundí) have become infested with paramilitary groups and narcotraficantes.

Here is an article from September 2023 where a car bomb was set off in Potrerito against a police station:

https://www.eltiempo.com/colombia/cali/ … ndi-808606

Here, an article today, 28 February 2024, about armed men confronting a group of cyclists and how the military will respond to help ensure safety there against groups al margen de la ley, groups outside the law:

https://caracol.com.co/2024/02/28/milit … e-jamundi/

Here another article about the incident, where the armed men demanded IDs and forced the cyclists to leave because they had not asked permission to cycle:

https://www.semana.com/nacion/cali/arti … as/202419/

These incidents in themselves should not rule out your living in Potrerito but it should signal extreme caution.  You would have to have boots-on-the-ground direct knowledge of the situation in that area to proceed.  I would not hesitate to visit my friends in the area.  But would I personally buy property in Potrerito?  I would not.

Here is an article dated March 2, 2024 from El País of Cali, about the current problems with the guerrillas in and around Jamundí:

https://www.elpais.com.co/valle/la-guer … -0201.html

I have read both articles, the reason for my question. thank you for your response.