VA health insurance

This is probably a question for a lawyer; however, thought I'd throw it out there and see what happens.

does anyone know if VA health insurance would qualify for the Health Insurance requirement when moving to DR?

Thank you.

@ondami

what is VA health insurance? 

I'm a Veteran and i receive healthcare from the VA.

I'll be going to DR to get care in a clinic that treats Vetarans with the VA FMP. They can only treat for service connected disabilities.

i consider VA healthcare as insurance; may have mis-spoken.  I too get healthcare from the VA; healthcare beyond my service connected disabilities.

I think I've found my answer.

Thank you for  your reply.

Look into the VA Foreign Medical Program. you have to get seen in one of the qualified clinics which services Veterans with service connected disabilities only under the FMP. Go to MedVets. There are three clinics I reached out to, MedVets was my top choice.  again, under the FMP, only service connected disabilities when overseas.

@ondami following

Is having health insurance a new requirement for residency? We didn't have health insurance in place here when we applied for residency because we weren't living here yet. We've gone through two renewals, most recently last month, and we've never had to provide proof of health insurance.

That said, even if Migracion doesn't require it, I highly recommend anyone spending any amount of time here having coverage that will work here!     

No it's not. You need the insurance policy in case you need to be deported