Looking for a town to land on

Hi - I am a writer - looking for a cool quiet place in Spain to live. Northern Spain appeals but not sure what city to chose. I am a singer, like jazz, broadway, opera. Looking for green space, somewhere to run my dog and if possible near an ocean. Tell me where you love to be, please.

@fauzyaM

Welcome to the expat.com forum and good luck with your potential move to Spain!

Spain has lots of coastline, so there are many, many very nice options including smaller towns and villages and larger cities.

I think you need to check out the big list of Spain's most popular "costas". The north-west coast has Costa Cantabria and Costa Vasca around Santander and Bilbao. Costa Brava is Barcelona/Girona. Costa Dorada near Tarragona. Costa Blanca has Valencia/Alicante. Costa del Sol with Malaga and Marbella. Costa de la Luz near Seville.

The prices vary a lot depending on the city and how close to the city (and the beach) you are. For example, we are in the Costa Blanca (a great option, we really like it), and an apartment in Alicante city's Playa de San Juan can be hundreds of thousands of euros. Barcelona is also a wonderful city, but similarly expensive. We can't afford either! Instead, we are a few km inland in Elche (a lovely traditional Spanish city, UNESCO-listed for its palm groves) and we found an awesome apartment here for a fraction of the price. We are near the centre (Elche is quite large, the local airport is actually Alicante-Elche) with all services, and we have several lovely beaches within 20km.

I recommend Idealista (dot com) as a very large and reputable online property agent that has listings all over Spain. You can quickly see what you can get for your budget in particular areas.

@fauzyaM