Tips for settling in Mauritius (Insurance, bank, admin)

Thanks Julien for setting up this thread. My name is Millie and my husband is Matt.

He is a born and bred Aucklander and I am half Mauritian, half British - grew up in Hampshire, England. My parents live in Rose Hill and I have lots of other family members dotted around the island (Grand Baie, Long Mountain, Curepipe).

I got my Mauritian passport (by descent) and identity card during a visit to the island last December, and since then we have been talking about the possibility of moving there, more seriously recently when we realised we have both fallen out of love with life in New Zealand and especially Auckland where we are based at the moment.

Matt trades index futures and is a project manager for a commercial property company, also a qualified quantity surveyor. His plan is to set up in earnest as a trader full time when we move.

I am a journalist by trade with coming up to 14 years' corporate communications experience across in-house (10 years, public and private sector) and agency (four years, majority private sector). I would either freelance or look for a full-time role, depending on what's out there. I am currently two years into learning French. If only my mother had taught me!

We have a cocker spaniel, Aria, who loves the beach, so luckily she's on board with a move.

We are both very active - we love the great outdoors, the beach, hikes/walking, gym, boxing (Matt), yoga and running (me) - and social, we love dining out and the odd party.

We have so many questions we don't know where to start, so maybe we will just check out the conversations happening over the next few weeks and jump in when it feels right.

Thanks for having us!

Millie and Matt

Hi Millie and Matt, welcome to Expat.com !

It's great to hear that you're considering a move to Mauritius.

From your introduction, it sounds like you are primarily interested in enquiring about job opportunities in your respective fields.