Guayaquil or Cuenca

New member here.  Currently live outside Philadelphia, PA and hoping to move to Ecuador within the year.  Not retiring unfortunately as I'm only 39.  I am a construction worker/ Carpenter and curious what job life is like down there.  I'm undecided on where I  want to go, buts it's between Guayaquil and Cuenca.  Any preferences and why?  Thanks and looking forward to hearing from you.

Dear Danny,

Since this thread is dedicated to new-member

introductions, I have responded to your post

on ¨The work culture in Ecuador¨thread.

That thread is clickable at the Ecuador forum

welcome page.

cccmedia

@dannyboy19111 I would recommend Cuenca over Guayaquil for a couple of reasons. First, the crime rate on the coast, and including Guayaquil, is high. This is because of the drug cartels and their problems that the government needs to address. Second, the proportion of expats is higher in Cuenca than in Guayaquil or pretty much any other city in Ecuador. This would be important unless you are already fluent in Spanish and have read up on Ecuadorian culture and social norms down here. I hope that you have already thought through your motivations in moving to Ecuador and becoming an expat. Doing so is one of the first and one of the most important things to have done. I wish you well and welcome you to a really wonderful country. Please let us know if you have other questions. But, as has already been noted by cccmedia, please start a new thread should you want to discuss things beyond introductory matters.

Hello everyone,

Welcome @dannyboy19111

Please note that I have created a new thread from your post on the Ecuador forum so that you may better interact with members.

All the best

Bhavna