Where to live with young family

Hi all currently going through visa process and hoping to reside in sydney soon! I am a self employed plumber in UK and have 3 young children and wondering where to live for access to good schools shops and other amenities. Am selling everything to make life hopefully almost or mortgage free,and will have 650 to 700k to put down on house.   Ive read that over the next 20 years there are to be over half a million new homes in the sydney area and would like to no where to base myself for access to plenty of work. We would like to be not far from the beach {up to 30 minutes away max if possible} and no more than an hour from the city. We like the sound of the upper north shore and northern beaches but would like to know which locations within these or any other areas we should consider. Thanks see you soon!

Hi, I'm going to apply to visa proccess, I'd like to live in Australia, wich is the best place to start?

Eastern Suburbs are pleasant areas :)

Hi there,