Dental Tourism to Mexico

Dental Tourism is indeed gaining popularity along the US-mexican border as well as to Mexico in general - Booming border cities with a unique advantage on the Mexican side: Medical Costs are way cheaper in Mexico compared to U.S. costs. Therefore U.S.-Americans travel just over the border to see a doctor or buy pharmaceuticals. But, some people may be apprehensive for various reasons about seeing a dentist in Mexico. Why is that? And on the other hand, what are the push- and pull-factors that make patients cross the border and receive dental treatment in Mexico? Each need of the patient has to be met, but what are those? “Mexican Dentists are not held to the same standards as in the U.S.”, but is that really true?

My name is Katja Schnee. I recently research on Medical Tourism to Mexico and especially concentrate on Dental Tourism. I am a graduate student presently writing my diploma thesis at the University of Trier, Germany.

I would like to ask U.S.-American patients on their last dental visits across the border in Mexico. A lot of online blogs and articles tell me that there is a huge forum for discussion and many left open questions. The answers are only used for statistical purposes and the information won't be shared, sold or distributed to any third parties.

If you have visited Mexico for dental treatment before, I would be very grateful if you could share your opinions by taking about 10 minutes to fill out the following questionnaire. The data will be kept strictly confidential and your anonymity will be guaranteed. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions or concerns. Your answers are very important for my work and are only used for statistical purposes. Start by clicking on the following link or by copying and pasting it in your browser:

http://www.unipark.de/uc/dentaltourismpatients/

Share your opinion about dental treatments you already experienced in Mexico through my survey.