How can I get a job teaching English in Lyon?

Hi Everyone,

I'm American and will be moving to Lyon in September. I will have the proper work status by then.  Who, in Lyon, hires Americans to teach english? I would like to secure a job by the time I move there. I have a B.A. in International Studies from American University in Washington, DC.

I am told that I do not need TESL certification before moving there but I do not feel comfortable making that assumption. I plan to get certified in May.

Any suggestions or insights are greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

I am a scottish teacher in Lyon (the primary section in the International School of Lyon) as I am qualified as a Primary teacher. However, I take french lessons at Alliance Francaise. I think if you got in touch with them they might be able to help you find some english schools in Lyon. If not, you could contact some of the english speaking International Schools to ask for advice.

Helen

Thank you, Helene. Your information is very helpful.

Hi AchirHero,

You could check at INSA Lyon, it's a pretty big engineering school and there are a couple of american/irish/british teachers working there (I have been studying at INSA Lyon for the last 5 years ). email of the HR service is [email protected], and you can check out their web page but I'm not sure there is much information : http://www.insa-lyon.fr/en/recruitment- … esearchers

You can also check other universities like Université Lyon 2, here is the webpage of the department of english language (but it's in french) :http://langues.univ-lyon2.fr/rubrique-73-Departement-d-Etudes-Monde-Anglophone-Anglais-Lyon-2.html
and the secretary's email is :[email protected]

or Science Po lyon : http://www.sciencespo-lyon.fr/ ([email protected])

Ezechiel

Thank you Shellyhowell and Ezechiel.  I will check out that website.

I really appreciate your responses.

you could try ILTC in Lyon. They don't need a TEFL.

Hello Helen,