Do and don't in the Philippines

Are you living in the Philippines? We need you to share your experience of the local customs :)

Is it difficult to adjust to the local customs in the Philippines?

Could you please share with us a list of the do's and don't's in the Philippines?

Thanks!

Here are some off the top of my head

Do's
Get to know Filipinos
Be understanding of way of life and ways things get done
Try to learn language
Think in peso mentality
Find a small group of friends you can trust

Don'ts
Don't flash money
Don't act better then locals
Don't be abusive
Don't scream or be loud around locals

As an expatriate living in the Philippines, I avoid political  discussions and debates with strangers regarding Philippine politics. Maybe it's just me, but even though I'm a permanent resident here, I consider myself a "guest", and it just seems rude to argue with one's "host" in these matters.

Now if a local wants to discuss or engage me in a debate about American politics, culture, etc. then bring it on.

xpatinphils you have it right. You will survive.

To add to DavaoBruce donts - never piss off a pinay
as for do's - never go anywhere alone without a pinay at least, Work on your sun tan, eat pork when invited to, learn to smile more. Above all relax, philippinos are a good breed.

Thanks, watever. I've been here 4 years, and it's worked so far.

Do Smile
Do be curtous
Do enjoy life
Do enjoy your family
Do travel the country
Do be humble
Do take time to sit under a coconut tree once in awhile
Do drink redhorse

Don't??????? if you are doing all the above their is no time or need to discuss the don't

Kaibigans
Support the victims of the Typhoons
Join us Oct 21, and lend your support
kaibigansonline.com

Don't try to board the the Line 3 MRT  and Line 1 LRT at rush hour unless it's absolutely necessary.  The crush of people is unbelievable.