Living in Osaka

You are an expatriate living in Osaka, or you used to  work and live in Osaka.

Share your expat experience!

How would you describe life in Osaka?

Has it been complicated to settle down, to find a job, and an accomodation? 

Is it complicated to make friends in Osaka?

What would you recommend to people who would like to live in Osaka?

Thanks in advance for your participation

I'm looking to move to Osaka Japan to teach english.  I have been to Japan before but never Osaka so I am trying to find out more about the neighborhoods throughout the city.  I am young and looking to live in a vibrant neighborhood.  Music and nightlife are big for me, but culture is also immensely important.  I would like a location with a balance of both.  If you have a good knowledge of the neighborhood distinctions could you please break them down for me.  Thank you for your time and assistance.

Good morning,

I am a cross-cultural trainer living in Charlotte, North Carolina, USA who will be working with a couple who is moving to the Osaka area.  We will be meeting on Monday and Tuesday, Nov 23 and 24 – Eastern Time zone. 

During out time together I would like to speak to an American woman who is currently living in the Osaka area.  This is a casual 1.5 hour phone conversation, for which there is compensation, about life in Osaka.  Quite often this is the most important part of the training.  This couple has never been to Japan and will be on their preview trip in early January. 

Could you help in finding someone to help in this couple's successful transition into the exciting life in Osaka?  I am happy to provide further information about me, the transferee and wife and provide topics of discussion. 

Thank you very much for your help,

Regards,

Kay Beverley

Berlitz Certified Training Professional

704-847-5773