Advice on Moving to, & Working in Chile

Hello everyone,

Great job with the site; very helpful.

I live in the Caribbean at the moment & I'm looking to live somewhere beautiful & full of nature. I'm learning Spanish & I have a science degree, plus I have excellent English & computer skills.

I don't require anything lavish...a comfortable, sunny apartment, basic amenities & a good job. But how feasible is it now to obtain a job in CHile? Are foreigners actually wanted (besides rich entrepreneurs)? I don't want to leave without first securing a job.

Any secrets regarding finding a job? Anywhere I find online agencies to be tedious, unreliable & unsafe. There's no way to know who's scamming you.

Any ideas as to the approximate amount of pesos one needs to make a comfortable transition?

Any info about anything will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Hi,

I moved to Chile in October of last year and within two weeks I had secured a job teaching at a British School. I'm a native English speaker and my background is in education so I'm sure that helped. Before I moved here I contacted several schools, and sent them my CV and a cover letter. I would recommend researching places to work in your field before coming here and contacting them ahead of time.

If you're looking for nature I would suggest the south of Chile. It's absolutely stunning.

Good luck with everything!

Hi naturefairy!

Welcome to Expat.com and oh, love your username :D

Hope you'll find the answers you're looking for through the members and forum.

Best of luck with everything,
Haf

I agree with maggie, send your CV first to companies in your area or for teaching english in adult education or in the mining industry, which employs heaps of english speakers workers (without really needing spanish).  But you have to live in the North of Chile.