Looking for work

Hello everyone,
I have just returned to England from central Brittany with the view of returning in a few weeks. I am in the process of looking for work, preferably something manual in the building/gardening field.

I was pursuing an Apprenticeship in England, carpentry and multi-trade, but with no luck and now I see my future in France. I was wondering if there are any similar schemes/opportunities for Expats in France? And just any suggestions anyone has for someone in my position?
Many Thanks

Leon

Do you speak French???

Very little at the moment, but I am studying.

It's the problem. The French is required for your area... You will be with boss and colleagues who won't speak English... As for interview... You won't understand the orders... And all out of job is made in French... Administration, stores, etc... Not a lot of french speak English... But anyway, already, for your job, you must speak French...

Yes I know, I will make that my priority.
Thank you for your replies.

Central Brittany might not be the best option in France (I come from this part) maybe check on the coast, futhermore there are more and more British retired people they might be happy to find someone like you to do some work or gardenning

Hello,
I agree, but my girlfriend is based there and has plans, so another location isn't an option at the moment. I just have to try to find something.

I have enquired about the possibility of an apprenticeship. 'Les compagnons du devoir' they offer a few things that interest me, whether I am eligible for anything though, I couldn't quite make out.

Many thanks for your reply.

Leoking4work wrote:

Hello,
I agree, but my girlfriend is based there and has plans, so another location isn't an option at the moment. I just have to try to find something.