How is the City Oslo compared to others?

I am not yet an expat,
But I am an American student planning to spend two years in possibly Oslo for my graduate school studies in psychology.
How is the City Oslo compared to others? Is it clean, affordable, friendly to Americans, family safe, etc? How is transportation? Is there lots of traffic and delays?
I am also curious do foreign students get discounts for housing and transportation here? Is it a good place for a single mother? How is finding a job difficult?

Any answers are so very helpful and appreciated

Thank you

capbat33 wrote:

I am not yet an expat,
But I am an American student planning to spend two years in possibly Oslo for my graduate school studies in psychology.
How is the City Oslo compared to others? Is it clean, affordable, friendly to Americans, family safe, etc? How is transportation? Is there lots of traffic and delays?
I am also curious do foreign students get discounts for housing and transportation here? Is it a good place for a single mother? How is finding a job difficult?

Thank you

Well, we have trams and train and taxi, and buses. Delays aren't really a problem.
No, no one gets special treatment in norway, u have to pay the same amount for housing as everyone else, if you want a decent place for you or possibly child and you're gonna have to pay tons for a decent home.
Norway in general can be a great place to raise your child depending on which part of Oslo you're thinking about.
some places have addicts injecting themselves with heroine right in front of you.

When it comes to jobs, it depends on which type of jobs u want to have.
Bartending job can be a possibility, if you only speak english.
Some cleaning jobs require a degree in cleaning (lol)
But it's still possible.
You cannot get a job with out a working visa and a local social security number.
Which we call fødselsnummer

Hello everyone,