Retirement in sindangan Zamboanga Philippines

I'm considering retirement in Sandangan Zamboanga Phillippines primarily for the cost of living and possible marriage to a local. What is the risk of getting my butt shot of in this area. I'm a military veteran and am well versed in hand to hand combat and weapons. What are the laws for foreigners and guns for self defense. So far my research tells that it's the equivalent to the Wild West , I realize theirs a risk factor , however if allowed to carry a weapon I'll check out on my own terms.
Please advise.

Peter,
I would highly recommend you dont try to retire in Zamboanga. Last year an ex Australian former security forces guy, was over powered by 3 men and held hostage for eight months,He had a weapon but outnumbered he had no chance.He sold his house in Zamboanga to pay the ransom. I think he went back to Australia a broken man.Being armed is not going to help you if they think your worth holding hostage.

Like I said before , I was considering retirement in the Philippines mainly for the cost of living, I will live off a pension , I don't care to live like a king however I'm sure my pension will go a lot further their. I entertained the thought of meeting a woman close to my age group for marriage . Is there any place you would recommend I research.
Thank You for your time and consideration.
P.L.

Peter,