Making phone calls in Greece

Hi,

When settling in Greece, one of the priorities is to be able to make phone calls.

How to proceed to get a landline installed in Greece?

What are the mobile operators?

What is your average monthly budget?

Thank you in advance for sharing your experience,

Maximilien

The absolute cheapest way to call, is to get Whatsapp on your cell phone and use their free call facility. Akin to Skype, but IMO, less hassle. You will need a reasonable internet signal, but with so many wifi spots, that isn't usually a problem.

Pre pay mobile SIMS are around the €10 mark and talk time recharges start at €5 from phone retailers. Top Up cards are €10 or 20, giving a data option.

I have no experience of contract tariffs, but am told that by choosing an appropriate package, calls and data can be quite reasonable. Phones themselves are quite expensive, so best bring an unlocked model from your home country.  You have a choice of COSMOTE WIND or VODAFONE. Much a muchness although I find Cosmote cover better in the countryside.