Working as a freelancer in Austria

Hi,

A lot of expats dream of becoming self-employed: we would like to help you to make that dream come true.

Can foreigners work as self-employed in Austria? What are the formalities to work as a freelancer?

What are the pros and cons of this status: social security, tax system, etc.?

How is the freelance market in Austria?

Thank you in advance for sharing your experience,

Kenjee

I work as a freelancer in Austria (web design. mobile).
I was already an EU citizen so that made things slightly easier, but the process itself is incredibly complex and slow, mainly due to the fact that there is very little in the way of initial assistance if you don't know where to begin. I had to learn that the hard way, so hopefully this information will help you to get through some of it:

You'll need a German speaker if you can't speak the language yet.

First visit your local WKO (Wirtschaftskammer). They will go through the basics with you and you will need to sign LOTS of forms. You will also need ALL of your identification: passport, proof of address (multiple), a police record either from Vienna or from your country, your birth certificate (required for the police record) and marriage certificate if married.

The WKO will charge you a yearly fee whether or not you use them after the initial set up - there is no way around this. It's around €100 per year.

You also need to pay a yearly business fee and a tourism tax fee (pricey vary on your location).

The first tax bracket starts quite low (around €11k), and the tax is very high (currently 36.5% for even the lowest income earners above the non tax bracket) but apparently this is being reduced from Jan 2016.