Learning to Drive

Good evening everyone,

It's dawned on me that I'm 26 and still don't know how to drive. As I am based in Kuwait I was wondering if anybody could recommend a place where I can learn. Mind you I will be learning from scratch.

I only get back to Ireland for a couple of weeks every year as I am a teacher here so would prefer to learn or at least get started in Kuwait. Obviously the instructor would need to be fluent in English.

Any suggestions welcome,

Regards,

Dean.

Hello,

Related to this question, I would like to know whether it is possible to get a driver's license in Kuwait. Can one take the written test in English?

I don't have a license and I will have to get one in Kuwait. Thanks in advance.

Dean i dont mean (lol, sorry :P) to stereotype but, if you are interested in playing gaelic football, i know a group of craic-loving irishmen that would welcome you! if you work for GES you probably know them all already.

anyhoo, back to your matter - as a teacher you are allowed to get a drivers licence. however "learning" is not quite so easy - you need to first apply for a learners permit, you need some docs from your school, you go to this place in jabriya, give em the papers, they start the process and hand you a permit, then, you head over to Kuwait Motoring Company, its located down the 4th ring road, near the "assyma" DMV (main DMV), now they will initially give you all the training to pass the test. given that you need to learn more than that, n00b driver, you might stay with them longer, however you take the test at their grounds and so its easier to land the licence if that is indeed your purpose. seeing as how getting the licence is the only way to get a permit, then go ahead and get the licence.

if however you want to learn to drive a stick, then you'll need to ask in advance, they have ads in every paper in kuwait, so its only a matter of reading the arab times with your morning coffee before class.